top of page
Peter Matthey - photo.jpg

Peter Matthey was appointed Catholic Network Australia (CNA) Board Chairperson in June 2018.


Prior to his work with CNA, Peter has held numerous leadership roles including Chairman of Cabrini Health and Company Secretary of the Cormack Foundation.

Peter Matthey

Board Chairperson


Catholic Network Australia (CNA) leadership consists of a Board of Directors, Office Bearers and Committees.

CEWA PORTRAITS 2022_PhotographyByMattBiocich-28_DebraSayce.jpg

Dr. Debra Sayce is the Executive Director of Catholic Education Western Australia (CEWA), the second largest education provider in the state.  Debra holds a doctorate in Educational Leadership, is a published author and has lectured in the School of Education at the University of Notre Dame.  She is a member of CECWA and serves on several national boards and committees.  

Dr. Debra Sayce


Neil McGoran.jpg

Dr. Neil McGoran is Director of Catholic Education South Australia. 

Dr. McGoran was previously Chief Executive of the SACE Board of South Australia, from 2013 to 2017, where he was instrumental in leading a program of transformational change. 

Dr. McGoran has over 30 years’ experience in education in roles including teacher, principal, senior administration and management. 

Dr. Neil McGoran


Board of Directors

Peter Matthey (CNA Board Chairperson)

Dr. Neil McGoran

Dr. Debra Sayce

Office Bearer

Michael Haigh (Company Secretary)

CNA Executive

Dr. Debra Sayce (CEWA – Chairperson) 

Michael Haigh (Company Secretary)

Leigh Williams (Brisbane) 

Ben Beaton (CEWA) 

Matthew Ferrinda (CEWA) 

Phil Proctor (CESA)

Leesa Jeffcoat AM (CEnet)

Liam Garvey (NCEC IT representative) 

Additional members - TBA

Commercial Working Group

Tony Panetta (CEWA - Chairperson) 

Michael Haigh (Company Secretary)

Dr. Raju Varanasi (Parramatta) 

Phil Proctor (CESA) 

Additional members - TBA

Technology Working Group

Phil Proctor (CESA - Chairperson)

Dr. Raju Varanasi (Parramatta) 

Tony Panetta (CEWA)

Boyd Bostock (Brisbane)

Additional members - TBA

Stewardship Working Group

Leesa Jeffcoat (Rockhampton - Chairperson)

John Favretto (CESA)

Matthew Wissell (CESA)

Jennifer Caro (Brisbane)

Ben Cooper (Tasmania)

Michael Haigh (Company Secretary)

Additional members - TBA

Education Working Group

JJ Purton Jones (Diocese of Lismore - Chairperson)

Matthew Ferrinda (CEWA - Deputy Chairperson) 

Liam Garvey (QCEC)

Wendy Tisbury (Cairns)

Tracey Catling (Lismore)

David Williams (Sandhurst)

Sharyn Creed (Brisbane)

Jane Heatley (Tasmania)

Steven Newman (Maitland-Newcastle)

Hayley Bertwistle (Maitland-Newcastle)

Marc Hattam (Maitland-Newcastle)

Louise Lambert (Melbourne)

Chris Anthony (Canberra)

Simone Harding (Wilcannia Forbes)

Karen Gardiner (Wagga Wagga)

Jason Ranieri (Sydney)

Mark Woolley (Wollongong)

Lisa Nash (Parramatta)

Caitlin Fahey (Bathurst)

Frank Brooks (CEnet)

Melissa Roth (Brisbane)

Jo Quinlan (Broken Bay)

Kimberley Shean (CESA)

Deborah Hansen (CESA)

Clynt Breen (Wilcannia Forbes)

Paul Norton (Rockhampton)

Nyree Buchanan (Townsville)

Additional members - TBA

Communication Working Group

Ben Beaton (CEWA - Chairperson) 

Alex Brodie (Ballarat) 

Kerryn Callaghan (Cairns)

Lyle Skipsey (CEWA) 

Shannon Short (CESA)  

Additional members - TBA

CEnet Service Delivery Team

Chris Burrows (Service Delivery Team)

Garry Anderson (Service Delivery Team)

Ian Gregory (Technical Officer)


Interested in joining a committee or working group?

© 2023 Catholic Network Australia Ltd. |  Disclaimer  |  Privacy Policy

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page